The Antiparos Cave is unique, not just for its stalactite formations but for its close links to the island's history.
Ancient vessels found inside were dedicated to the goddess Artemis and, according to one epigraph, the lyric poet Archilochus of Paros was among its earliest visitors. The names of Macedonian generals conspiring against Alexander the Great were found inscribed in the cave, where they hid to escape Alexander. Another notable visitor was the Marquis de Nointel, the French ambassador to Constantinople, who spent Christmas Day 1673 in the cave. Many visitors, from the Marquis de Chambert in 1775 to King Othon (Otto), Greece's first king, in 1840 carved their name on the walls. During the second world war, the cave suffered extensive damage by the Nazi occupiers.
The cave can be reached by car or municipal bus. The church of Ai Yannis Spiliotis stands at its entrance.